State Key Laboratory of Optoelectronic

Materials and Technologies


  State Key Laboratory of Optoelectronic Materials and Technologies (OEMT) of Sun Yat-Sen University was established in 2001 on the basis of the original State Key Laboratory of Ultrafast Laser Spectroscopy and the Guangdong Province Key Laboratory of Display Material and Technology. OEMT was jointly funded by National Ministry of Science and Technology and Guangdong Province. The director of OEMT is Prof. Xu Ningsheng, and the director of the Academic Committee is Prof. Xu Zhixhan (Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences)
   The research fields of OEMT cover display materials and technology, ultrafast science and technology, optoelectronic integration and lasers, chemical synthesis of optoelectronic materials, optoelectronic nano-materials and technology, optoelectronic materials characterization and technology and optoelectronic theory.
   At present, there are 53 research staffs in OEMT with their research interests covering physics, chemistry, optical engineering, material science, and information science. Among 53 staffs, there are 2 academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences, 42 full professors, and 38 Ph.D degree holders and 36 Ph.D supervisors. More than 10 famous professors are working in OEMT as part-time researchers. Currently, there are 15 postdoctoral fellows, more than 130 Ph.D students and 200 Master students studying and working in OEMT.
   OEMT undertakes more than 140 on-going research projects, supported by the "973 program", the "863 program", the National Natural Science Foundation of China, etc. Since 2001, OEMT has published more than 750 peer-reviewed papers in Mat. Sci. Eng. R-Reports, Phys. Rev. Lett., Adv. Mater., Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., J. Am. Chem. Soc., Appl. Phys. Lett., Chem. Commun., Opt. Lett., etc., and filed 94 international and national patents, and has received one 2nd class award in National Natural Science, and one 1st, three 2nd class provincial awards in Progress of Science and Technology.
    OEMT establishes extensive international and domestic academic exchange and collaboration programs. The collaborators include Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Max-Planck Institutes, University of Cambridge, Moscow State University, University of Bordeaux, University of Pennsylvania, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, University of Hong Kong, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences of Taipei, Peking University, Tsinghua University, Nanjing University, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, Institute of Physics, Shanghai Institute of Metallurgy, Institute of Sensito-Chemistry, etc. Since 2001, there are more than 600 scholars from all over the world visiting OEMT. 11 conferences and symposia have been successfully organized and sponsored by OEMT. Currently, OEMT is a member of the international project of space experiment "Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS)" led by Prof. C. C. Ting, the 1976 Nobel prize laureate in physics. We collaborate with MIT, USA, university of Geneva, Switzerland, NLR and NIKHEF, the Netherlands for developing a CO2 two-phase thermal control system for silicon Tracker (Tracker Thermal Control System, TTCS) that will operate in space.
    In addition, OEMT is keeping strong relationships and has gained closer academic connections with international and domestic enterprises in R&D, joint lab building, etc.

  • State Key Laboratory of Optoelectronic
    Materials and Technologies
    , Sun Yat-sen University
  • Address: No. 135, XinGangXi Road, Guangzhou
  • Phone: +86-20-84037563 +86-20-84112292 Fax: +86-20-84037423
  • E-Mail: or
  • Zip Code: 510275
地址:广州市新港西路135号 邮编:510275 电话:(020)-84037563 or 84112292 传真:84037423 电报挂号:8775 or